The Next Biggest Loser

Well….I didn’t win The New Yorker’s cartoon caption contest. 

I came in third….out of three.  Ouch. 

One of my friends graciously suggested it was because I didn’t have a huge network of friends stuffing the ballot box.  I don’t know whether to take comfort in that or get depressed because I’m a friendless loser.  haha  

My new t.v. reality show should be “I Love Lose-y.”

Anyway, I want to thank everyone who did vote for my caption.  I intend to keep plugging away and enter the magazine’s contest every week.  Who knows, maybe someday I’ll  come up with a caption that will be generic enough to appeal to all those unimaginative cretins out there.  Just kidding! 

Really, it was an honor to be selected as one of the finalists. 

Now I know how Helen Mirren must have felt at the Oscars. 

(Except she won one once, didn’t she?  Crap. There goes that analogy.)

5 thoughts on “The Next Biggest Loser

    • They get thousands of entries for the weekly caption contest so you wouldn’t see mine unless it was chosen as one of the three finalists, like this one was.

      As for my mind, it works in mysterious ways…. :)

Leave a Reply

