Shoot Me Up, Doc!

Personally, I hate “organ recitals.” 

You know, like when you ask someone how they’re doing and they launch into a recitation of all their ailments, moving systematically through all the internal organs? 

Well, sit back and relax because I’m going to play the Wurlitzer for you.  

 

Had a nice visit with the orthopedic surgeon my physician had referred me to today.  I’ve had plantar fasciitis (see here for definition) in my left foot before and, danged if I don’t have it in my right foot now.  Only worse this time.   

 

About eight months ago we increased the distance we walk nearly every day from around one mile to two.  Gradually over time I’ve had increasing heel pain (along with burning and shooting pain in the ankle) and finally had to break down and do something about it since it felt like I was teetering around on just bone everytime I took a step. 

Nothing like waiting until the pain gets excruciating, I always say.

My ortho doc is a really nice guy who kind of looks and sounds like Press Sec. Robert Gibbs, who, by the way, I’d just been watching talk about the oil disaster on the t.v. in the doctor’s waiting room.  

He (the doctor, not Robert Gibbs) listened to my symptoms and said a cortisone injection would be the best course of action since it was a chronic condition that was beyond the usual exercises and icing that are prescribed for acute, short-term cases. 

So I “hopped” up onto the exam table and the nurse sprayed my foot with “the freeze spray” while the doctor inserted the needle into my foot.  Then he said, “Okay, now here comes the burn” as he injected the cortisone. 

It wasn’t a day at the beach, but it wasn’t as bad as some of the pain I’d been experiencing already, so I was surprised when the doctor finished and exclaimed, “You’re tough!”  I laughed and said, “No, you’re good!”  I asked him if patients usually jump around on the table during the injection and he just repeated “You’re tough!”, so I guess it’s good to be a tough old bird after all.

We’ll see how it goes now after the injection.  Doc gave me a referral to a physical therapy group who can help with exercises, etc., especially since he felt there was some tarsal tunnel involvement also.  (Think carpal tunnel syndrome, only the ankle instead of the wrist.)  If there isn’t any improvement in symptoms in a month, I get to go back and have another go at it.

And now, I’ve got a reputation as a tough old hen to uphold.  No pressure though….

4 thoughts on “Shoot Me Up, Doc!

  1. Holy moly, did you take that picture while you were being shot???

    Plantar fasciitis is one of my husband’s favorite topics. Don’t answer your phone. He may be calling to compare notes.

    Like

Okay. Your turn!

