Sticker Shock

We live in a very red part of a very dyed-in-the-wool red state, politically speaking.  So I’ve become accustomed to seeing bumper stickers that don’t exactly reflect my way of thinking. 

One that particularly gets my goat (if I had a goat) is the one with a waving, smiling George W. Bush who’s asking the question, “Miss Me Yet?” 

 

My answer to that, to quote John Boehner, is “Hell, no!” 

 But I guess I’m in the minority around these parts.  With only 1800 voters in our county who considered themselves Democrats in this last mid-term election, I feel like we’re an endangered species. 

Put us on the list along with Abdulali’s Wrinkled Frog, the Maroon-chinned Fruit-dove, and the Wattle-necked Softshell Turtle.  (Oh, wait…isn’t that Mitch McConnell?)

But today I spotted a bumper sticker that I hadn’t seen before on a truck in front of the post office.  This is it:

Now, just what the hell is that supposed to mean?  I know the good folks in Oklahoma recently voted not to allow Muslim Shariah law to be implemented in their fair state. 

I’m sure they acted just in the nick of time on that one.

And I read the other day that FreedomWorks, chaired by former House Majority Leader Dick Armey of Texas, continues to make the case for state House Republicans to dump incumbent Speaker Joe Straus, R- San Antonio, who just happens to be Jewish.   

In an email exchange Tuesday between two members of the State Republican Executive Committee—Rebecca Williamson and John Cook, Williamson sent a fact sheet to SREC members defending Straus. 

Cook responded by dismissing her claims, saying:

“We elected a house with Christian, conservative values. We now want a true Christian, conservative running it.”  Since the SREC governs state Republican Party affairs, this marked the first time an elected party leader had semi-openly called for a “Christian conservative” Speaker. 

“When I got involved in politics, I told people I wanted to put Christian conservatives in leadership positions,” explaining that he only supports Christian conservative candidates in Republican primary races.

“I want to make sure that a person I’m supporting is going to have my values. It’s not anything about Jews and whether I think their religion is right or Muslims and whether I think their religion is right. … I got into politics to put Christian conservatives into office. They’re the people that do the best jobs over all.”

Help me out here.  We’re encouraged to “vote Biblically,” but only from the part of the Bible that came much, much later.  Is that it?  I guess all that stuff about Moses and those ten whatchamacallits don’t come into play at all unless you buy into the whole enchilada.

So with that in mind, here’s an ATC I created awhile back which still stands the test of time, unfortunately.

13 thoughts on “Sticker Shock

  1. i’ve seen that “miss me yet?” sticker, and i will always shout “No!”, not that anyone can hear me from inside my car… you are making a fatal mistake in your analysis – you are applying logic. you’ll never be assimilated if you keep doing that…

    Like

  2. Awesome post. I would respond to those crazies non Biblically if I were standing in front of them. It seems to me that making it your life’s goal to elect Christians with conservative values is very much the same as opposing those who don’t share your religious and social beliefs. Still a form of narrow-minded righteousness and bigotry.

    Like

  3. As far as Oklahomans not wanting Shariah Law to be considered in the courts, it has nothing to do with a people or a culture, as so many people may think, it is to protect the ‘subjects’ of Shariah Law from treatments or judgements which conflict with OUR laws. We must obey and abide by the laws and consequences of breaking those laws when we are within the cultural and geographical boundaries of other countries. The only way to assure fair treatment of US citizens of other cultures in our country is to make SURE that they are protected/punished by the laws of OUR land.

    Like

    • If they are U.S. citizens, they are subject to U.S. laws. Shariah law would not be considered in U.S. courts. This ruling is completely unnecessary. I find it hard to believe that Oklahomans are so concerned about the well-being of Muslims in their state that they would take it upon themselves to “protect” them in this way.

      Thanks for your comment, Linda.

      Like

  4. This is funny because I started writing a post (before my computer screwed up!) and I was going to title it HELL, NO! in answer to that very billboard.

    I saw the movie FAIR GAME last week and it brought the whole paranoid, dirty-tricks administration back to mind. What they did to Valerie Plame and the irreparable harm they caused her family and others was tragic and despicable.

    Like

  5. Whew, I’m breathing a sigh of relief. I came over from MerrilyMary’s blog, because I liked the whole TTPT handle — then I saw the bumper sticker and thought, “Crap, what have I gotten myself into this time?”

    Then I read the post and jumping up and down I cried, “Can I get a hallelujah?”

    Like

  6. I am a Republican living in Chicago–I feel your pain in reverse. Like the person who commented before me, I clicked from Merrily post and thought, “Wooohoo!” No not really, I was more than ready for a change. More than ready

    The lies regarding Obama (US Citizenship), and the bible quotes that are misquoted, misunderstood, and prejudice infuriate me and I am dam sure they piss God off. They distract from conversations regarding real issues, incite hatred and separate us into special interest groups.

    We may not agree politically but we more then agree on the issues as you presented them here. United We Stand.

    Like

Okay. Your turn!

