I’m Hip, Man…

Researchers have found that the width of the pelvis, the distance between the hip bones and the diameter of the hip bones all increased as people got older, even after people maxed out height-wise.

“I think it’s a fairly common human experience that people find themselves to be wider at the age of 40 or 60 then they were at 20,” study researcher Dr. Laurence E. Dahners, a professor in the orthopedics department at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, said in a statement.

For years, people thought the widening was because of an increase in body fat, but the new findings show that pelvic growth may lead to an increase in waist size as people get older — and not just because they put on more weight, Dahners said.

The pelvic width of the oldest people in the study (ages 70 to 79) was, on average, about an inch larger than the youngest people (ages 20 to 29), according to the study. That translates to about a three-inch increase in waist size between someone age 20 and someone age 79.
 The new study was published May 25 in the Journal of Orthopaedic Research.

29 thoughts on “I’m Hip, Man…

  1. I could kiss your feet for this if I thought I could get back up. Now, at last proof that I did not do this to myself through sloth and frequent overindulgence in Weight Watchers Giant Fudge Bars. I am absolved and can enjoy my elastic waist pants unashamedly.

    Go TarHeels!

    Like

  2. My mom told me about 10 years ago that her waist had gotten larger – I thought it was just the ice cream talking, but now I’m experiencing the same thing, WITHOUT the ice cream. In fact, I’ve been on this weight loss program for awhile but I’m not sure my slim clothes are ever gonna fit again around the waist. My waist is larger. And I’m shrinking. Will I disappear? Thank you for this very timely post!

    Like

    • It is a weird phenomenon, isn’t it? Even my daughter (who is trim, slim and only 39) has remarked that some of her clothes don’t fit in the same way they used to. Imagine that. (Pay no attention to the smirk on my face.)

      Like

  3. I’m just barely over 5 ft tall. How old will I be when I am as wide as I am tall? Perhaps I should just give in now and eat the chocolate – after all, the inevitable is the inevitable…

    Like

  4. You could always sell them on eBay! (I remember what an eye-opener it was when my kids wore some clothes that I’d hung on to from the ’60s for Halloween.)

    I have to admit I’m pretty ruthless about purging my closet. I don’t like to have articles of clothing sneering at me from the shadows. “Admit it. You’ll never be able to zip me up again! Bwahaha!”

    Like

  5. Have they discovered that cheese and beer cause pelvic inflation? I’m pretty sure they do. Also, the fatter the ass you’re carrying around, the better protection you have against osteoporosis. You’re not going to see THIS girl break her hip. Good thing, because it would be hell to lift me back up.

    Like

  6. When I was a teen, I truly believed I was fat. I look at those pictures now and I would love to slap that former self right in the face. If I could be thin like that again, I promise I would appreciate it. But now you tell me that will never happen…… I had a fantasy. 😦

    Like

      • Well, eating yogurt for breakfast seems quite reasonable, doesn’t it? And ice cream is much the same except that it comes in better flavors! With jamocha almond fudge, you can even include coffee in that breakfast… all in one dish!

        :)=

        BTW, I’m here from IM and decided to look around. I like your humor.

        Like

Okay. Your turn!

