Romancing the Stone

My son and his family were here in Texas this weekend from California and one of the things they wanted to do was hike to the top of Enchanted Rock.

(Please click on the photos for enlarged views.)

Enlarge the view and, yes, those are people way up at the top.

Here’s a short video from the Texas Parks and Wildlife department:

Seven of our four adult, four kids and one grandma party of climbers decided to take the vertical attack in ascending the dome.

Two of us, my daughter-in-law and I, otherwise known as The Lame and The Halt, opted for a modified switch-back approach at about the three-quarters point in the climb.

My DIL suffers from a knee injury that causes her knee to sound like a bowl of Rice Krispies when she walks, and I have plantar fasciitis (heel pain) in one foot, with a little tarsal tunnel syndrome thrown in for added enjoyment.

We were traversing in a more diagonal fashion back and forth across the face of the rock instead of climbing straight up and it wasn’t long before we realized that we’d lost sight of the rest of our little group.

At that point we couldn’t see the top of the dome.  We looked around us and saw no other climbers below us either.

It was just us chickens.

This must be how the Donner Party felt.

Finally we saw two women walking down from the summit and I asked them if the end was in sight.

One said, “Oh, there’s a flat area and then it’s just a little more after that!”

Her companion said, “You’ve got a long way to go.”

Great.  An optimist and a pessimist out on a hike together.

But we did manage to get to the top not too long after everybody else and I have to admit the views were spectacular.

You can see the effects of the long drought on the vegetation.

Triumphant granddaughters!

I give new meaning to the name "Rocky."

Granddaughter in obligatory "pushing the boulder" pose.

On the downhill walk, looking back toward the summit.

Interesting rock formations. Discuss among yourselves...

Dear Governor Goodhair: Forget Cain, please send rain.

26 thoughts on “Romancing the Stone

  1. Hi,
    What a fascinating place, inside a volcano that didn’t erupt, estimated to be about 1 Billion years old, that is just incredible. The views are magnificent, and some of the rock formations are amazing. Great photo’s, and I loved the video, very good information. I have never heard of this place before, thank you for the info. :)

  2. I remember climbing up a large hill (not mt.) in Mexico to see some Mayan “something.” It was a popular destination for tourists and locals.
    It took us several hours to hike up the steep trail on a Sunday afternoon. I couldn’t get over the Mexican women who passed us on the trail wearing dresses and high heels!!!!

    • I didn’t see anyone in dresses and high heels, but there were some folks who were heading for the summit with two little long-haired Dachshunds on leashes. Their little legs were just churning and their tongues were out already. I’m betting they got carried most of the way—my dogs would have seen to that!

  3. This made me laugh, “I have plantar fasciitis (heel pain) in one foot, with a little tarsal tunnel syndrome thrown in for added enjoyment.” I also appreciated your Donner Party observation. I feel immense middle aged woman pride that you reached the top, “Rocky”.

    • It was a little tricky in some spots on the way down. There wasn’t any clear path to take, you kind of had to make your own. I thought my DIL’s knee would act up because I know from experience that going down stairs is often worse for knee pain, but she said it wasn’t bad. Both of us were in pretty good shape the next day, all things considered.

  4. Wheee! i am a huge fan of such ‘obligatory’ tourist photo shots… looks like a grand day out! hope the knee held up on the downhill – i find it a lot worse than uphill for my cranky knee-parts!

  5. You are so funny! But look at you, persevering in spite of the maladies and missteps. I’m impressed. Once in a while I try to push myself to do things I wouldn’t normally do. It’s good to hear that others aren’t mountain goats, either. Thank you for the inspiration!

  6. I’ve heard Enchanted Rock described as the largest monolith in North America without confederate soldiers carved in the side of it. That said, I love the sound the wind makes when you are climbing ER.

  7. Naturally, I like the picture of you best of all. And the grandkids. Mostly, I just like sharing this experience with you. Who knew that Texas has its own Ayers Rock?

  8. OMG, you must come to NC (or I can send DB there if you insist!) because my husband LOVES to compare notes on plantar fasciitis. His will be worse, of course. It’ll have to be someone from Texas… he’s exhausted everyone here!

    I AM IMPRESSED!!!

Leave a Reply

