Fall Is in the Air

I guess I come from a long line of “fallers.”

As you know, my mother has fallen several times since the one that landed her in the nursing/rehab facility in October.  The last time was in the dining room of The Hotel (retirement center) where she’s living now.

In that fall, she went over backward and conked her noggin on a table or chair on her way down.  Amazingly, nothing bad resulted from that except a goose egg on the back of her head.  The bump disappeared after a couple of days.

Now, my daughter has carried on our tradition by falling headfirst down the steep flight of stairs in her home.

(I had promised her in the past that I wouldn’t blog about any personal stuff of hers, so I’m just keeping to the bare facts here as they relate to our family propensity for not maintaining verticality.)

She and her husband had recently sold their home in town so they could move out to a place in the country on two acres.  The buyer wanted a short escrow, so they had been working like maniacs getting the water, electric and septic connections hooked up, all the while packing their stuff for the move.

Needless to say, they were pretty exhausted.

And when that happens, my daughter has a tendency to sleep-walk.

Or, in her case, sleep-fall.  Down the stairs of their two-story home.

At 2:00 am my son-in-law phoned to tell me she’d gotten up from bed (while still asleep) and taken a header down the stairs.  She was pretty banged up, with a cut upper lip (thankfully no broken teeth) and painful bruises on her chest and scrapes on her legs.

I drove into town as fast as I could and stayed at their house with the grandkids until around 4:00 when they got back from the ER.  She had a mild concussion and contusions, but nothing broken.  Whew.

In an effort at full disclosure here, I will repost my own episode of falling down some stairs that I posted on this blog a couple of years ago.

It didn’t involve sleep-walking, but it did center around Birkenstock clogs, rain, two little dogs who needed to pee, and a husband who’d warned me that Birkenstocks were the work of the Devil.

Enjoy.

https://youcallthatart.wordpress.com/2009/11/21/death-by-birkenstock/

15 thoughts on “Fall Is in the Air

  1. Oh dear. Maybe she should get one of those toddler gates for the top of her stairs. Hope both she and your mother are fully recovered.

    Like

    • They did have a gate at the top of the stairs, but they said they hadn’t used it for a couple of years since the kids were older. At any rate, it’s a moot point since they moved out yesterday. What a way to end ten years’ occupancy! Went out with a bang—literally.

      Like

  2. I see that I left a comment on your Birkenstock post about a hand-me-up pair from my daughter. She tired of them in high school, but I’m still wearing them. She’s 37 now. These are felt and I’ve never … wait for it… felt anything so comfortable.

    Like

  3. PS. Mild concussion is serious enough to me! YIKES! Was this in the old house or does her new one have stairs? Does she ever go outside?

    Here’s hoping all of you are forthright, upright, and not uptight.

    Like

  4. I have done a face plant onto a wooden floor while one step up. I can totally empathize with all of your fallen family. Tell her to rest up and take care of herself.

    Like

  5. There are two brands of shoes that I equate with “ultimate turn-offs” no matter how comfortable they allegedly are — Brikenstocks and Crocs. At the same time I’m not implying that you and your beloved spawn got what you deserved, but Jesus H. Christ, those shoes are hideous. As a relatively compassionate person, the painful foot falling that you, your daughter and your mother have suffered bring to mind a quote from that great fictitious American, Bart Simpson, “I didn’t think it was physically possible, but this both sucks and blows.”

    Like

  6. Last year I lost my balance and fell in the shower. I hit my head on the faucet and blacked out. It’s a wonder I didn’t drown. Getting older is not for the faint of heart!
    I’m glad your daughter is okay.

    Like

Okay. Your turn!

