Sweet “Sicks-teen”

Today I am commemorating sixteen years since I had my hysterectomy.

Yay.

Couldn’t get that sucker out of there fast enough, if you ask me.  I suffered through ten years of what they laughingly call “peri-menopause.”

(Otherwise known as “your HMO won’t do a hysterectomy unless you’ve got a mass or are just about dead.”  And they wouldn’t do a sonogram to find out if there was a mass, so the bean counters won that round.)

Anyhoo, I’ve gone from being the sole support of the tampon industry to having a vested interest in Poise pads now.  Life is funny.

THE SITUATION PRE-1997

THE SITUATION, MARCH 1997

 

APRIL 7, 1997

APRIL 7, 1997

 

8 thoughts on “Sweet “Sicks-teen”

  1. Amen, sister!

    It’s been 22y4m7d and I have never, not for one nanosecond, regretted it. I was liberated, especially so since my tubes were tied in 1972. (Sidenote: the first two doctors I approached told me “no elective tubal ligation”. Reason? I couldn’t pass the criteria set by the hospital’s Sterilization Board, which okayed hysterectomies of any woman, EVEN if she was diagnosed with uterine cancer. For elective hysterectomy, I was too young, had too few children and was not impoverished. I was 25, had two children and my husband was employed full-time. Even when the third doctor agreed to do it, my husband was required to sign a release.)

    Second liberation surgery? Breast reduction. My 36DDD had become a real drag. Afterward, I experienced something truly novel in my life: men started to talk to my face and not my chest. Ugh.

    Buh-bye, tampons!

    Like

    • “Sterilization Board”? Wow. Sounds very sci-fi. It’s amazing that women can’t have operations that they need but Rick Perry can get experimental back injection treatments that haven’t been approved and are looked down upon by the medical establishment. On the bright side, I think the injections might have contributed to his stellar performances during the GOP primaries.

      Like

      • Back in those creepy days (just about the time of Roe v Wade), women couldn’t make up their own mind abouts contraception. From abstinence to the “rhythm-method” to condoms to pills to IUDs to tubal ligation — few doctors were courageous enough to buck the system. And passing judgement on uterine cancer was to thwart the efforts of doctors who were “tying teh tubes” under the radar. Women’s desire to control the rate at which they procreate was in the hands of men. Because, after all, we women don’t have the intelligence to make those decisions… And, dang it, every sperm counts!

        Like

  2. Not knowing what they are, I just Googled Poise pads. Now I’m sure that whenever I’m online I’m going to be bombarded with bladder leakage ads for the rest of the month or throughout the remainder of spring. Joy. And happy anniversary to you.

    Like

  3. Sorry about that. I inadvertently clicked on an ad for a device to prevent “foot drop” in MS patients and ads for that turn up on EVERYTHING. Also, I’m being stalked by the Neptune Society. They want to cremate me at some point. Let’s wait on that, okay?

    Thanks for the anniversary wishes! I think the traditional gift for the hysterectomy sixteenth anniversary is a Premarin refill.

    Like

Okay. Your turn!

