The Things You Learn…

I’ve been trying to improve my 8th grade Spanish lately through the use of a great internet site called Duolingo.  But help has also come in the form of a fellow Zumba classmate who hails from Spain originally.  It’s wonderful to be able to converse with a native speaker, especially when it comes to those pesky idioms, expressions used by a specific group of people.

This morning I told her in Spanish that “Dormí como una piedra anoche.” (I slept like a rock last night.)  She said in Spain it would be “Dormí como un lirón.”  I asked her what that was and she said it was a little animal that slept all day.

Turns out it’s a dormouse (remember the sleepy dormouse in Alice in Wonderland?) and I found this absolutely adorable video of one snoring.  Yep, that was me last night.

4 thoughts on “The Things You Learn…

Okay. Your turn!

