An Antidote to Bathroom Mania

This is well worth the thirteen plus minutes it takes to view it. 

2 thoughts on “An Antidote to Bathroom Mania

  1. Whenever I hear about these “bathroom bills” I ask, “Why does it matter?” It’s a question I’ve asked ever since I stood guard while a trans friend went to the bathroom. I didn’t ask why it mattered to him. I asked why it would matter to anyone else.
    Listening to this I realized it does matter to trans people which bathroom they use. And they should feel safe using it. To the rest of us it doesn’t matter. It’s not our concern.
    I can’t imagine how profound it was for this young woman when she found friends who “made me feel like it was the most normal thing in the world” simply to be who she is.

    Like

  2. Again and again I hear it said that trans people should be ignored because they’re “a tiny minority”, but listening to this story it was striking that, out of a whole school, only one person chose to make this young woman’s life difficult.
    I can’t imagine how profound it was when this young woman found friends who “made me feel like it was the most normal thing in the world” just to be who she is.

    Liked by 2 people

Okay. Your turn!

